…And to All a Good Night!

Well, Christmas is here.

It passed just as fast as it came!

I must say it was the best one so far, thanks to all of my loved ones. I hope that no matter where you are or who you are with, your Christmas is filled with peace and love.

And pie.

Ours certainly was!

And cookies and ham and turkey and eggnog.

First up was gingerbread baking.

gingerbread cutouts

Decorating was fun, once my brother Matt got a hold of the piping bag.

mattdecorating

This is his…creation.

gingerbread1

There was only one problem. He needed a sister.

gingerbread2

Aren’t they just, uhm, beautiful?

So much personality.

(If you’re wondering if that is her mouth, the answer is yes.)

Our Christmas Eve party was fantastic!

Sarah made some yummy “Moose Munch” that made her famous at Dad’s work.

moosemunch

We covered some pretzels and pecans with the leftover chocolate from the Moose Munch. That was a grand idea.

chocolate covered

And Toni, my sister in law (well, we can call her my sister…I frown at the term “in-law”), made her perfect Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese frosting with toffee bits on top.

When I say perfect, I mean perfect. She is famous in my book for her cupcakes. And other things as well. I just love Toni.

pumpkin cupcakes

Sarah made the Reese’s and Hershey Kiss cookies in the middle. Those were a hit!

Can you find my “Mele Kalikimaka” gingerbread girl?

desserts

…and Robert’s upside down Auburn cookie? (War Eagle!)

Don’t worry, Bama fans. He made one for you, too. See half of that scripty “A” ?

And it wouldn’t be Christmas, or a holiday in general, without pie. This is the Chocolate Pie that I adore.

chocolate pie

And my favorite non-dessert dish on our buffet, Rye Rounds.

Robert’s eyes start to bulge when he gets a whiff of these in the oven. They’re magical.

rye rounds

Maybe one day I’ll figure out why they’re not called Rye Squares.

It’s tradition, so Rye Rounds is just so Rye Right.

After all of our feasting, Robert read a few verses from Luke on the birth of Jesus beside the twinkling tree. That’s always a peaceful time for us.

The fellowship was amazing, especially since all of the siblings were together again. Robert is finally home from Texas, my sister Laura and her husband Blakeley made it over, and Matt and Toni were able to spend a couple days with us as well!

We all have a blast, and usually end up in tears from laughing so much!

We awoke to a chilly Christmas morning, so we warmed up with coffee and Stollen bread. It’s an old German recipe that we’ve made during the holidays for years and years. And years. It is sweet, comforting, and the true sign that Christmas has arrived.

Guess what I unwrapped?

pie book

I really love this book. I already read the whole thing.

There is a Tiramisu Pie for goodness sake.

I’m beginning to think that I keep receiving cookbooks just so that I will bake a pie for the giver.

And I am totally okay with that.

I will certainly be trying out some of these Southern pie recipes very soon!

But for now, I’m going to finish watching A Christmas Story 24 hour marathon with the fam and soak up the last bit of holiday cheer of 2013.

Once again, Merry, Merry Christmas! I hope your season has been filled to the brim with joy and love.

4 thoughts on “…And to All a Good Night!

  1. You. Are.Amazing! So sweet. So Clever. Matt and I LOVE your writings! It was a very, very Merry Christmas, indeed! We were sad to leave today but look forward to the next time we’re all together! Love, Love!

    Like

Leave a Reply

