Ice, Ice Baby

What’s that I hear?

20140126_185011

Snow? In Alabama?

20140126_185008

Hallelujah!

20140126_185008(0)

Little Lucy. Gotta love her.

Auburn has served me well this year. First the National Championship, and now two days off of classes for “winter weather.” Life is good.

ac and sarah snow

 

20140128_135706

20140128_175811

Little Miss Rhonda is frozen to the core.

 

rhonda the honda snow

 

And so am I!

20140128_171825[1]

You can always tell where a person is from judging by his or her reaction to snowfall.

I’ve been freaking out all day long. I’m definitely a Southerner.

I should be reading 20+ pages of Middle English British literature, but since I have the attention span of a four year old during major life events, I have been staring out the window waiting for the sleet to transform into flurries for the majority of my day. Besides, I’ve never seen snow fall from the sky, just a little accumulation on the ground.

Thank goodness it happened. Sarah was napping, I peeked out the window for the 438th time, and there it was–little happy flakes shimmying down from the sky!

I screamed and woke Sarah from her slumber. We proceeded to carry out the typical snow day activities, including her throwing a snowball at my face while I was opening my mouth to speak. In it went.

I’d rather not think about where that snow has been!

It was a blast, though. The snowflakes are still coming down pretty steadily, so hopefully it’ll still be there tomorrow for us to play in!

I’m such a child.

Especially since I have yet to do that assignment.

Procrastination at its finest right here.

No pies were made today to allow for maximum recess time. We have some yummy peaches just waiting to be devoured, so that will be coming soon.

Enjoy the snow, or the sleet, or the sun…wherever you may be!

And happy, happy birthday, Aunt Debbie! Love ya.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ice, Ice Baby

  1. Birthday wishes on The Pie Notes….such a special surprise!!
    Regarding the snow you received ….I’m not sure if anyone has ever referred to snow as “little happy flakes shimmying down from the sky”! I love your writing and always look forward to your next entry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

