Peachy Keen

I take back what I said last weekend about wishing it was spring. Winter isn’t so bad when snow is involved.

It is AMAZING!

snow 2

rhonda snow

snow

Looks like we got a couple furry friends visit our front porch last night…

paw prints snow

(that is my footprint by the way)

The snowman fam.

snowmen 2

And now with a bit more sass..

snowmen

I’ve found that I am terrible at making snowballs, which means I’m terrible at making snowmen. That was as good as it was going to get!

I’ve been frolicking around all day. Trying to crack the super thick layer of ice on our cars, making snow angels, freezing to death. Yeah, it’s been a good day.

Since we are basically trapped at our house because of the icy roads, we’re running out of food. Not really, but you know how it goes–you always want what you can’t have.

I want chili, but we don’t have any ground beef.

I want chicken parm, but we don’t have chicken.

I want turkey burgers, but we don’t have turkey.

I guess I just want meat. And we don’t have any.

I shouldn’t complain though…I can’t believe all of the chaos that is happening on the interstates and roads across the South. Getting stranded in cars and sleeping overnight in schools are certainly not common occurrences. I hope that all who found themselves in scary situations made it safely home and are warming up next to a fire on this pretty Wednesday afternoon.

So we have peaches, and that’s about it. I was flipping through my pie book and the only other option was an old-time vinegar pie. This was made during hard times when vinegar was used as a substitute for cream and milk. It sounded like it could be good, but not as good as peach cobbler.

peach cobbler

This cobbler is a winner.

Although it’s not summer time, the fresh peaches Sarah bought smelled delightfully sweet and turned out perfectly in this dessert.

Enjoy!

Fresh Peach Cobbler

Leave a Reply

