A Sweet Mother’s Love

Peaches are currently occupying a large chunk of my life. The mere thought of the fresh aroma, sweet juices, and glorious texture of this season’s beautiful ripe summer fruit makes me very, very happy.

I thought I’d add to my peach repertoire on the good ole blog.

I’ve made a couple peach pies this summer, but I am still in the process of tweaking the recipe. A girl can only eat so many slices.

So here is an extraordinary Blueberry Peach Crisp. It’s an easy to assemble, easy to serve option for a last minute party or after-dinner dessert. If you already have the oven on for your meal, slide this crisp right in there and in less than an hour, you’ll start catching whiffs of those bubbly blueberries and peaches beneath a layer of warm, crumbly, crispy goodness. Oh, the joy. By the time you’re finished feasting on that roasted chicken or plate of spaghetti, your crisp will be ready!

IMG_20140625_091215

Growing up in the farmhouse, all eight of us would be sitting around the dining room table sharing stories from the day, enjoying the wonderful homemade meal that Mom prepared for us (as she did essentially every night…talk about a super-mom!) and right as the plates started clearing, I’d breathe in the scent of her peach cobbler baking in the oven. All seemed right with the world. Even doing the dishes afterwards wasn’t so bad, as long as that cobbler was in my life.

My mom really is a miracle worker. And knowing that she cherished every minute of raising her six kids is comforting and refreshing all at the same time. The love that poured (and continues to pour) out of her every moment gives me a ton of strength to try to better myself in order to help those around me.

I guess what I’m saying is to make everything you do special and enveloped with purpose. Sit at the table with your family for supper. If you’re alone, invite a friend over. Get to know those around you on a deeper level. In the digital age, distractions run rampant, but don’t get sucked into that nonsense. There’s a time and place for everything, and I think it’s about time we all try to recognize what it means to be present. Simplification helps.

As my dear mom always said to me, “Simplicity is happiness.”

I’ve been faithfully saying the same for quite some time now. Every time I make an effort to simplify my thoughts and actions, the reward is exponentially more fulfilling than fleeting accomplishments that further complicate my life. And I am fully aware that the world can throw curveballs without the slightest warning. That’s why we simplify – to be prepared for the unexpected.

Gee, blueberry peach crisp must stir up my philosophical principles.

Just look at it!

IMG_20140625_150119

I love this one. An updated peach cobbler I’d say, for the experimental days. The blueberries really add another level of flavor and complexity…a winning crisp in my book!

Thanks Two Peas and Their Pod for the great recipe!

Here’s the printable version for you –

Blueberry Peach Crisp

And don’t forget that you can scroll through all of my other recipes here

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

